World Theatre Day 2015, 27th March      

The author of the Message of World Theatre Day 2015 is the Polish director Krzysztof Warlikowski!

World Theater Day Message 2015

The true masters of the theater are most easily found far from the stage. And they generally have no interest in theater as a machine for replicating conventions and reproducing clichés. They search out the pulsing source, the living currents that tend to bypass performance halls and the throngs of people bent on copying some world or another. We copy instead of create worlds that are focused or even reliant on debate with an audience, on emotions that swell below the surface. And actually there is nothing that can reveal hidden passions better than the theater.  

Most often I turn to prose for guidance.  Day in and day out I find myself thinking about writers who nearly one hundred years ago described prophetically but also restrainedly the decline of the European gods, the twilight that plunged our civilization into a darkness that has yet to be illumined. I am thinking of Franz Kafka, Thomas Mann and Marcel Proust. Today I would also count John Maxwell Coetzee among that group of prophets.

Their common sense of the inevitable end of the world—not of the planet but of the model of human relations—and of social order and upheaval, is poignantly current for us here and now. For us who live after the end of the world. Who live in the face of crimes and conflicts that daily flare in new places faster even than the ubiquitous media can keep up. These fires quickly grow boring and vanish from the press reports, never to return. And we feel helpless, horrified and hemmed in. We are no longer able to build towers, and the walls we stubbornly construct do not protect us from anything—on the contrary, they themselves demand protection and care that consumes a great part of our life energy. We no longer have the strength to try and glimpse what lies beyond the gate, behind the wall. And that’s exactly why theater should exist and where it should seek its strength. To peek inside where looking is forbidden.

 “The legend seeks to explain what cannot be explained. Because it is grounded in truth, it must end in the inexplicable”—this is how Kafka described the transformation of the Prometheus legend.  I feel strongly that the same words should describe the theater. And it is that kind of theater, one which is grounded in truth and which finds its end in the inexplicable that I wish for all its workers, those on the stage and those in the audience, and I wish that with all my heart.

Krzysztof Warlikowski

Translation: Philip Boehm
Supported by Theatre Communications Group and the U.S. Center of ITI

© Bartek Warzecha

Journée Mondiale du Théâtre 2015, 27 mars      
 


L'auteur du message international de la Journée Mondiale du Théâtre 2015 est le metteur en scène polonais Krzysztof Warlikowski!

Plus d'informations sur l'auteur du message
Télécharger son message et ses traductions

 

Journée Mondiale du Théâtre 2015

Les vrais maîtres du théâtre se trouvent généralement loin de la scène. Et ils n’ont souvent que peu d’intérêt pour le théâtre en tant que machine à copier les conventions et à reproduire les clichés. Ils recherchent plutôt la source de l’impulsion, les courants de vie qui ont tendance à éviter les salles de spectacles et les foules promptes à copier un monde ou un autre. Nous copions au lieu de créer des mondes ciblés ou même dépendants de débats avec un public, et d’émotions sous-jacentes. Alors qu’en réalité, il n’y a rien qui révèle mieux les passions cachées que le théâtre.

Le plus souvent je me tourne vers la prose pour me guider dans la bonne voie. Chaque jour qui passe, je me rends compte que je pense à des écrivains qui ont décrit il y a plus de cent ans, de façon prophétique mais contenue, le déclin des dieux européens, le crépuscule qui a plongé notre civilisation dans une obscurité qui doit encore être illuminée. Je pense à Franz Kafka, Thomas Mann et Marcel Proust. Aujourd’hui je compte aussi John Maxwell Coetzee parmi ce groupe de prophètes.

Leur vision commune de l’inévitable fin du monde - non pas de la planète mais du modèle des relations humaines - et du bouleversement de l’ordre social est d’une actualité poignante pour nous ici et aujourd’hui. Pour nous qui vivons après la fin du monde. Nous qui vivons avec des crimes et des conflits qui éclatent quotidiennement partout, si rapidement que même les médias omniprésents ne peuvent plus suivre. Ces feux deviennent rapidement ennuyeux et disparaissent des rapports de presse, pour ne jamais y revenir. Et nous nous sentons impuissants, horrifiés et coincés. Nous ne sommes plus capables de bâtir des tours, et les murs que nous nous sommes bornés à construire ne nous protègent plus de rien - au contraire, ils demandent une protection et un soin qui consume notre énergie vitale. Nous n’avons plus la force d’essayer d’entrevoir ce qu’il y a derrière cette porte, derrière ce mur. Et cela est exactement la raison d’exister du théâtre, et là où il doit puiser sa force. Pour regarder à l’intérieur, là où c’est interdit.

”La légende tente d’expliquer l’inexplicable. Comme elle naît d’un fond de vérité, il lui faut bien retourner à l’inexplicable”- c’est comme cela que Kafka décrit la transformation de la légende de Prométhée. Je crois profondément que les mêmes mots devraient décrire le théâtre. Et c’est ce type de théâtre, basé sur la vérité et finissant par l’inexplicable que je souhaite à tous les acteurs du théâtre, sur scène et dans la salle, et je souhaite cela de tout mon cœur.

Krzysztof Warlikowski

Traduction: Zoé Simard 

 

 

 




© Bartek Warzecha